Inspire Me

originally posted on Facebook, November 28, 2010

“To be the best of [what] I can be and to do everything I should do the best way I can,” is what this person said. I asked myself, am I the best that I can be? Have I done everything I could? Did I tried my best in everything?

The first thing that came into my head was the Parable of the Talents (Matt 25:14-30), where the master gave favor to those who invested their talents and gave back more than what they borrowed. This life , our soul and spirit, that we have is borrowed from God and someday we our bound to return it to Him. But what would we answer to Him if he asks, “Did you use it/live your life well? Did you live up to your potential?” I don’t want to be like the servant who just played it safe, kept the talent in fear of losing it, at gave it back the way it was to the master.

“And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth..” (Matt 25:30). If not living my life well meant eternal suffering or hell, I should think twice when I play things safe, hesitate, become lazy, and/or give up. God placed me in this world to experience life, the good and bad in it, to love God, to love others, to succeed, to be happy, and to have one heck of a rollercoaster ride so that I could tell God one amazing story about my life. It’s a win-win situation for me and God.

I also remembered this part in the movie Bucket List, where Morgan Freeman said the Egyptians believe that when they die, their gods will ask them two questions that will determine if they’ll entire paradise or not. They are: 1) Where you happy with your life, and 2) Did you used your life to make others happy.

Are we really happy with our current situation? Are we a blessing and/or a miracle to others? Did we do something about that thought or let it remain forever as a thought?

There are a lot of things that could inspire us or be an incentive in this world – love, money, significant others, family, friends, success, fame and fortune, hopes and dreams, our past failures. The list is endless. But only one thing is important, would any of those help us in answering God when He finally asks us that question, “How was your life?”

——–
Be the blessing! It’s cool being spiritual!

Thoughts?