WSW: Righteousness

It has been a while since I posted on this blog. I’ve never had much time to write stuff until now. I felt the need to write, to have an outlet, to fill that void. That need is to be part of a life sharing group. That void is haven’t been able to be part of our Word Sharing Circle for I think almost a year now.

So I thought of using this blog to have my own venue for Word Sharing.

Even though I don’t have other people joining me to share their life with me, at least I think I have people who will listen.

So in the spirit of our Word Sharing Circles every Wednesday, and the techie-yuppie version, the short-lived Watering Hole Wednesdays, welcome to my Word Sharing Wednesdays and here is my sharing.

W(ord):
Righteousness (from the second reading)

O(rder):
“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” – Galatians 6:9

R(eflection/ealization):
I am not a good or holy person. I haven’t been able to attend Mass regularly. Praying is something that I do whenever I’m in trouble or having some big problems. Sometimes, I think too highly of myself only because I can’t really define the line between being confident and being proud or how different they are.

I’ve been struggling for the past months trying to think if I am the one at fault or the people around me, if I’ve been pushing people away or is it them pushing me away.
I want to think that I am good enough, that I’ve been trying hard to be nice and friendly but to no avail. So I stopped trying. Maybe there’s nothing wrong with me. I felt better after accepting that realization. But it was short-lived. I’ve become miserable again. And reflecting on all of it, perhaps I’ve become self-righteous.

The other day, I received this text message from one of our elders in our religious organization. It says, “Let’s keep telling others they matter. It is not easy having a kind heart in a stressful, complicated world, and our greatest test is when we are able to bless someone else while we are going through our own storms.” It reminded me of Galatians 6:9 where it says that we should not get tired of doing good. Perhaps I shouldn’t stop trying to be nice even if some people who would care at all because there are other people who might appreciate it.

D(irection):
Always try to be humble. Learn from your mistakes. Always do your best, be your best.

Prayer:
Father God, grant me patience and a kind, understanding heart. As I try my best to become a better employee, may I put being a better person first because I know that at the end of the day, that is what matters most. I am a person first, a being who is capable of loving other people. I know it is a struggle as the battle to choose love over hate is difficult but I know that with your help, slowly but surely, I will win that fight. All this I ask in your most powerful name. Amen.

Thank you, guys, for reading. I do hope I would be able to keep this blog going, posting my reflection every Wednesday and maybe other stuff as well.

Be the blessing!

Thoughts?

