20131009: Vision and Faith

“Then the Lord answered me and said: Write down the vision clearly upon the tablets, so that one can read it readily. For the vision still has its time, presses on to fulfillment, and will not disappoint. If it delays, wait for it, it will surely come, it will not be late.” – Habakkuk 2:2-3

It started about two weeks ago, September 27 to be exact, when I decided to start doing this devotion. I read this Facebook status and thought that maybe God is the only person who could give me that thing I want. I started praying again, not those “popcorn prayer” type but the lengthy, conversational type. I read daily readings from the Bible. I went to attend Mass everyday. It was all good, or so I thought.

The very next day, I felt so gloomy for no apparent reason so I asked God why. After talking to God, I realized that I was doing this devotion all for the wrong reasons. I am seeking God because I want something from Him. Yes, God is a god who provides but I must seek the Giver first before anything else. I should forget about why I am doing this devotion and do it because I cannot not do it.

Habakkuk reminded me that it is only a matter of time before my vision, my goals, my dreams becomes reality. God is doing his thing into make all that happen. I have to be patient. I’ve been unemployed now for 5 months. Originally, it was supposed to be just 2 months to become “healthier” and then I would start working again, but I guess God had other plans. Right now, I have to believe that God is setting everything up for my big comeback in the worklife. I need to be patient. I need to be faithful. And for all of these things that God is doing for me, he deserves more from me. I need to devote more time and effort for Him. I’m not preoccupied with anything so I should be able to give Him all that and more.

Father God, I am sorry for failing you for these past few days. I know you deserve more from me and I will try to do and give you more. I know that you have something great planned for me. I just need to be patient and then one day, you will give me all the opportunities that I need where I could shine and do the things that I love. You are the great Provider and everything I ask in your name will be mine. I will be faithful to your promise. I will trust in you. All these I pray in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen.

——–
Be the blessing! It’s cool being spiritual!

Thoughts?

