Battles Within You

February 21, 2012

James 4:1-10, Psalm 55:7-23, Mark 9:30-37

WORD/S:

“What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, yuo do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” – James 4:1-3

ORDER/S:

Find peace in yourself and pray for things that is in accordance with God’s will, and with good intentions.

REFLECTION:

Anger is a feeling that is so hard to contain. Almost always, we have to let it out one way or another. We usually do that through sports or vent out to our friends and family by simply telling our frustrations or end up having an argument with them. Anger makes us say and do things we really don’t want to do. It brings out the worst in us in a flash. Let’s take today for example.

My day started very okay. Come afternoon, I had a nap and after I woke up, I decided I wanted to use the computer only to see my brother using it. Because of my frustration for not being able to use the computer when I wanted to, I felt angry and very irritable. Everytime a family member calls for me, I always answer them in a raised voice. I watch over my brothers ever so carefully, waiting for them to make any mistake so that I could scold them. I became this just because I wasn’t able to use the computer–so childish.

DIRECTION:

I always tell people that being happy is a choice and you can be happy by choosing to see the world and handling things differently. I could have checked if my brother was doing something important. Important or not, I shouldn’t have gotten angry especially that I use the computer most of the time. Now, while typing this blog, I could still feel some of that anger. Now, i’m drowning myself with happy songs, happy thoughts and conversations with  happy friends. I should find peace in myself right now.

Thoughts?

