Devil May Try

Filled, Led, and Protected — Jesus, being filled with the Holy Spirit…was led by the Spirit into the wilderness, being tempted for forty days by the devil. (February 24, Discovering God’s Daily Agenda by Henry & Richard Blackaby)

The first thing that came into mind, while reading this scripture, was the time I was baptized in the Holy Spirit at our ministry’s Life in the Spirit Seminar Proper back in the summer of 2004.

I can’t seem to remember any part of the proper except for the baptism and exhortation parts. During the baptism, when I was prayed over by my shepherd, I can still remember how cold it was in the room. It was raining outside with howling winds same as how the apostles experienced it during the Pentecost. Amidst the loud voices of other shepherds around, I can hear the quiet and calm voice of my shepherd, reminding me to give it all up to God, telling me to say Hallelujah over and over again to prompt the gift of tongues, and reminding me to ask for the Gifts that I asked God for. Little did I notice, I was falling into this relaxed state, as if I were in a quiet room, slowly drifting away. I never felt so peaceful and relaxed. I don’t even remember falling backwards. That’s how I felt being filled with the spirit. I became conscious of my surroundings a few minutes later. I could hear people speaking in tongues, people praying in loud voices, people singing in front. Later on, we were asked to stand up and join in on the worship.

Matthew 12:44-45 – Then it says, ‘I will return to the house I left.’ When it arrives, it finds the house unoccupied, swept clean and put in order. Then it goes and takes with it seven other spirits more wicked than itself, and they go in and live there. And the final condition of that man is worse than the first. That is how it will be with this wicked generation.”

Before LSS Proper, my shepherd warned me that after the baptism, we would be attacked by the evil ones, trying to convince us that we didn’t receive the empowerment of the Spirit. I found that to be true during the exhortation. I had a hard time focusing on the worship. I wondered why I wasn’t able to speak in tongues like my co-lambs. That thought bothered me till I got home. Later that night, I texted my shepherd that something’s troubling me and then he called me on the phone. He comforted me and  reminded me of the warning he gave before the Proper. So we prayed on the phone and I was able to rest peacefully somehow that night. The gift of tongues manifested 2 years later, just before I was called to be an under-shepherd.

The devil will try everything to make us feel unworthy, that we are not capable of great things, that we aren’t lucky or blessed, that we can’t change, that we can’t be good or we’re not good. The devil trying is not the problem but the moment that we succumb to him is. We have to remember the promises of God, that He will never leave us, that He won’t let anything bad happen to us as long us we put our trust and faith in Him. We should make God our foundation because He is firm and solid. If God is with us, who can be against us? But in case we give in, know that God is very forgiving. But let us not use that as an excuse to easily give in and sin. The devil may try to tempt us but we could also try to be better Christians–strong Christians.

Thoughts?

